Thirteen

When I first viewed this video,

I thought this low-tech thing would solve all my problems before I reminded myself about how bad I am with paper and pen. I’ve struggled with my writing until I learned cursive in fifth grade. Printing hurts my hands a lot, because it’s a lot of breaks and targeting where the next letter goes while cursive just flows in a straight line for me. However, teachers don’t like cursive, because it looks like a beautiful mess. My printing was sometimes so illegible that I got points marked off for it, or I had to be called in during break to read my essay for my teacher to fill in the blanks. In retrospect, the teachers for did the latter cared more about what I wrote than embarrassing me for having bad handwriting. I got really pissed off when I looked over and saw a male classmate with equally messy handwriting as me. It’s almost as if I’m getting punished for being a girl with bad handwriting, since I guess girls are supposed to have neat handwriting. Overall, my relationship with handwriting in the academic world hasn’t been great unless the teacher appreciates cursive.

I sometimes scribble cursive in an attempt to keep a low-tech journal, but that has failed on and off thanks to my fear that there’s too much personality in my handwriting, printing or cursive. I always felt queasy when I looked back at my cursive entries, because I don’t have a very cursively personality. Instead, my personality is like printing, but printing is hard. Thanks to my fourth grade typing classes and piano classes, I’ve learned to think through my fingers. If you listened to me say this sentence, the cadence and emphasis of my speech would correspond to the loudness and rhythm with my typing. Typing just feels that natural to me, and I am so grateful that I am in a decade that respects computers so much. Of course, I can’t type in class, because I can’t directly type notes onto handouts. Plus, regardless of how much I hate handwriting when I don’t have to, jolting down notes by hand during lecture feels more respectful. Another downside to being overly dependent on computers for studying is how much it hurts my eyes. I have to print long research papers, typed notes out, and sometimes random internet articles, because studying them on screen hurts my eyes. I know this is a small detail of my life that probably no one really cares about, but I’ve consciously struggled with and switched between a low-tech and high-tech life, which affected/influenced my studies since elementary school.

Who else has any/all of these problems listed above?  

Leave a Reply

